dinner · easy dinner

Hey, Hot Buddha Bowl

quick vegan dinner
Hey, Hot Buddha Bowl

I am always looking for quick and easy dinners. Most nights, around 5pm I start to get that panicky feeling and the little voice in my head starts saying “what are you going to make for dinner?!”  I usually start trying to answer this question by checking out some of my goto blogs. Oh She Glows is a favorite of mine, as none of her recipes have ever never let me down. The inspiration for my Hey, Hot Buddha Bowl came from Oh She Glows Buddha Bowl recipe.

I used to love hot wings…or so I thought! Lincoln and I used to frequent the local pub across the street for Wing Wednesday almost every week. Since becoming vegan, I’ve realized that I never really enjoyed gnawing meat off of an animal carcass, but what I loved was the hot sauce (…and the beer). So I’m always looking for ways that I can incorporate Franks Red Hot into my recipes (I put that shit on everything)!

DSC00728
Franks, Earth Balance and cauliflower
buddha bowl
faux vegan ranch

DSC00738

This is a really easy dinner to prep, and takes about 40mins start to finish. Most of which are just waiting for the cauliflower and broccoli to roast.  The original calls for baked chickpeas as well, but I find that it takes a lot of time to dry them properly so they become crispy and not just warm and soggy. The quinoa adds a protein punch to this quick and easy dinner, while the hot sauce and faux ranch add a lot of flavor. You can add as much or as little hot sauce as you like, depending on your taste.

Ingredients 

for base 

  • 1 head of cauliflower
  • 1 head of broccoli
  • 1 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 1 veggie bouillion cube ( or veggie broth for cooking quinoa)
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • salt and pepper

for hot sauce

  • 1/4 cup Frank’s Red Hot
  • 1 tbsp earth balance (or other vegan butter)

for faux ranch

  • 1/4 cup Vegenaise
  • 2 tbsp french mustard
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar

1. Pre-heat oven to 400F, and line baking sheet with parchment paper.

2. rinse and chop cauliflower and broccoli into bite size pieces and arrange onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Use 2 tsp olive oil and salt and pepper over cauliflower and broccoli and mix with hands until lightly coated.

3. Roast the broccoli, cauliflower for 20 minutes at 400F. After 20 minutes, flip cauliflower and broccoli   . Roast both pans for another 10-15 minutes or until the broccoli and cauliflower are cooked through and slighted browned on the bottom.

4. while veggies are roasting rinse and then cook quinoa. Add 1 cup quinoa in pot with 2 cups water and veggie bouillon cube. bring to a boil and then cover and reduce heat to simmer. Cover and let cook for 15mins . Once all liquid is absorbed, remove from heat and let sit for 5 mins. Then fluff quinoa with fork.

5. Now make the faux ranch. Add Vegenaise, mustard and vinegar to a small bowl and mix.

5. Once veggies are roasted, toss cauliflower in mixture of Franks and Earth Balance. I usually just add the ingredients into a bowl with a lid and then shake it until all the cauliflower is coated in Franky goodness!

6. Now add quinoa, spicy cauliflower and broccoli to bowl and top off with a drizzle of ranch.

7. Enjoy!

DSC00745

4 thoughts on “Hey, Hot Buddha Bowl

  1. Ok Phal, this looks like something I would enjoy!!! I find that meat is tasting yukky to me lately. I eat it mostly because thats what we do!!! I find this way of eating very interesting, but it seems a little overwhelming to get started. I have watched the movies you suggested, and I am convinced that this is healthy eating, but my question is how should I start and make it seem a little less overwhelming How does one start with little changes that are easy!
    Thanks for taking the time to answer our questions

    1. Hi!
      I’m so happy that you are wanting to make a change in your diet. Here are a few ideas
      1) A really good first step is to try doing meatless Mondays. Just try 1 new vegan recipe each week and soon you’ll have a few that you love and can go back to time and time again…you’ll probably also have some the you hate, so just burn those ones haha.
      2) Another really easy change is to stop buying milk and change to Almond milk (or another alternative that you like…coconut milk is really good to). Slik True Almond Vanilla was what I first changed to, its so yummy!
      3)The food author Mark Bittman just released a book called VB6 (vegan before 6), where the premise is that he eats vegan all day, and then eats meat at dinner.

      Overall try not to feel overwhelmed by it. Just try doing one thing at a time until you feel that you want to try another. The Buddha Bowl I posted is a really yummy and easy to make week night dinner.

      I’ll do a post on switching to a vegan diet this week!
      xoxo
      Phal

  2. Phal!

    I just made this! Soo good 🙂 I’ve been trying to have a couple meat free days a week and I don’t eat any milk products as it is (unless I am going to DIE without a slice of pizza or a trip to creekbread!!) I really like your blog! I am going to try gomae tomorrow too! We miss you up here chick! Xo

    1. I’m so happy to you like it Megan! I’m just on holiday right now, but will be back to a regular posting schedule next week. Hope to see you guys soon!
      xo
      Phal

Leave a Reply

