Sides

Zucchini Chips

Vegan Zucchini Chips

Waking up today to a typically Vancouver type morning had me craving comfort food.  I usually don’t mind the rain, but today feels especially dreary. On days like this, I begin to miss the prairie summers that I grew up with.  I’m starting to get really excited about my trip back home to Winnipeg to see my mom, and my friends on Monday! I’m keeping my fingers crossed for some hot hot heat when we go to Lake of the Woods for the long weekend.

Vancouver

After seeing this post on Pinterest for zucchini chips, I thought that I could easily swap out a few things to make them vegan.  I have noticed, as I become more and more comfortable with eating vegan, that it is really easy to modify recipes to accommodate my diet.  Sometime I wonder why more restaurants don’t have vegan options.  But, that’s a different post all together.

So, after my delicious morning coffee and smoothie, I headed out in the rain to pick up the few missing ingredients from my pantry. This recipe is pretty simple and doesn’t require too much effort, which is my favorite type of recipe! All you have to do is cut the zucchini, add the Almond milk into one bowl, and the dry ingredients into another, and then have fun dipping and coating. Dunk in almond milk, bread crumb mix, place on rack and repeat. I used to find cooking so stressful. Always worrying “what if it doesn’t turn out”, now I just throw on Songza get in the kitchen and see what happens. Placing exceptions on yourself can be harmful when trying to be creative.  I’m slowly learning that it’s ok to make mistakes, and that if I screw up a recipe, there’s always the Chinese food restaurant next door!

DSC_0097DSC_0111

Sorry the photos are so dark, I’m still learning how to use an SLR and as I said before….its a rainy day 😦

Baked Zucchini Chips

1 zucchini, sliced in large rounds at an angle
1/4 cup almond milk
1/2 cup panko bread crumbs
2 heaping tablespoons plain bread crumbs
2 cloves minced garlic
2  tablespoons nutritional yeast
 salt + pepper to taste
sprinkling of cayenne powder or crushed red pepper flakes (optional)
Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Pour the almond milk in one small bowl and bread crumbs, nutritional yeast, garlic, cayenne salt and pepper in another bowl. Dip the zucchini rounds in the milk, then the crumbs mixture, pressing down to adhere the crumbs to the zucchini. Place on a wire rack coated with cooking spray on top of a cookie sheet, and bake for 30 minutes.
These would be awesome dipped in the faux ranch from the Hey, Hot Buddha Bowl or my fave, Franks Red Hot.  Serve as a side along with a veggie burger or in a salad to add some crispy texture.
vegan zucchini chips
Leave a Reply

