appetizer · Sides · Uncategorized · Vegan

Peanut Butter Gomae and a Nice Little Saturday

Hey That's Vegan

Today has been a perfect Saturday day so far. I woke up with a touch of a headache (this may have been self induced from last nights G&T’s), and a hankering to go out for brunch. So, after wrestling with the idea of going up to Whistler, we decided on bunch and shopping (…well I secretly decided on shopping and just told Lincoln about that part of the plan after his belly was full). We went to a place called Fable on West.4th, and they made me a ratatouille which was awesome! The coffee was amazing as well.

After eating brekkie, we headed out to look around the mall…and we ended up with a new mattress! It gets delivered in 2 weeks, and I can’t wait! YAY! After walking out of the mall we headed to the Jazz Fest, where there were food trucks EVERYWHERE! I really wish that there was a vegan food truck here in Vancouver. Does anybody know of one?

Once I got home I was so hungry from all of the food truck goodness and decided to whip up a quick and easy snack to take away the hunger pangs. Taking a look in the fridge all I could see was the giant package of spinach from Costco, and thought “why not Gomae?!”   I was out of tahini, so decided to just go with what I had on hand (this is a skill that I’m really trying to work on), so peanut butter is was.

As I was tasting the sauce and trying to figure out what was missing I remembered the bottle of sake in the cupboard and decided to give it a go. It was the perfect addition. Is it just me, or does booze really make everything better?!

Hey thats vegan

My puppy* ( she’s actually  2 ½ yrs) Winni is also pretty good at making everything better:)

Shih tzu

One of the craziest things in making this is the amount of spinach that you use and end up eating (which is always good when you can sneak in some more greens into the day).  4 cups of spinach goes from this….

Hey thats Vegan

to this….

Hey that's vegan

Hey that's Vegan

DSC_0119

Peanut Butter Gomae  

serves 2

Sauce:

1 tbsp organic peanut butter

2 tbsp water

2 tbsp sesame seeds

½ tbsp agave nectar

1 ½ tbsp tamari ( or soy sauce)

1½ tbsp sake

and

4-6 cups fresh Spinach

1. place a large pot of water on stove and heat to a boil.

2. While water is heating, toast the sesame seeds in a non-stick pan. You’ll know they’re done when they turn slightly brown and start to become fragrant.

3. combine the rest of the ingredients along with toasted sesame seeds in a pan and heat over low for a few minutes until the sauce starts to thicken.

4. Once water is boiling add in all of the spinach.  Count to 20 and then drain using a strainer. Immediately run cold water over spinach to stop it from cooking more (this is called blanching).

5. squeeze any excess water out of the spinach with your hands.

6. Combine spinach and sauce in serving bowls and mix until all of the spinach is covered with the sauce.

7. Enjoy

hey that's vegan

I would love to get any feedback you have, so please feel free to leave a comment, question, or suggestion as to what you’d like to see more of.

xo

Phalyn

4 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Gomae and a Nice Little Saturday

  1. Hey Phalyn! Loving your posts keep them coming and as for the sake… your a women of my own heart 😉 Going to definitely try this recipe! Loving your work Z:)

  2. Hi Phalyn,

    Just a couple thoughts on a some ingredients you used in this recipe…Agave nectar is a highly processed form of fructose. It actually contains more fructose than high fructose corn syrup. Which makes it completely damaging to our skin and liver. Stevia is the best substitute for sugar as it is a natural herb that contains no fructose but is 300 times sweeter than white sugar. Organic maple syrup would be my second option. The other ingredient that sparks my concern is the peanut butter…Peanuts produce a mold called Aflatoxin, a carcinogen associated with liver cancer. Since peanuts are actually a legume and not a nut they lack the hard protective shell that nuts have. While the peanuts are being grown from the grown, being transported. and being stored they are growing toxic mold. Organic almond butter (stored in the fridge) is a much safer option. I stumbled upon your blog the other day and while reading your first blog post I see that you are very inspired to eat clean and be aware of the food you are putting into your body, which I greatly respect. I hope this information inspires you further!

    1. Hi Korrie,
      Thanks for the info. As far as the ingredients that I use my general rule of thumb is to try to stick to real whole foods as much as possible. I didn’t know about the fructose in the agave, I’ll be sure to replace it once I’ve used my Costco size bottle! As far as Aflatoxin, from what I’ve read it is mostly in nuts (and nut butters) from developing countries. I’d love any resources that you have to learn a bit more about it.
      Thanks for reading and for the info,
      Phalyn

Leave a Reply

