Uncategorized

Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms

Hey, That's Vegan

Nom Nom Nom….I’ve been craving mushrooms lately, and tomatoes….and chocolate… hummm

Anyway, I decided to try out this recipe that I adapted from Clean Green Simple. I had tried it before and thought that it could use a little somethin’ somethin’ (….that sounded cooler in my head). By adding a few simple ingreadents I had on hand and switching out the walnuts for cashews I was able to crate a super easy, quick and tasty main course. This would also be a great dish to serve if you were having a dinner party. The best part? The clean up is super quick and easy, so by the time you take it out of the oven the kitchen will be clean and you’ll look like the hostess with the mostess. Or, at the very least, there isn’t a huge mess to clean up after your belly is full and all you want to do is slip into your evening lazy pants ( or is that just me???).

Hey that's vegan

DSC_0129

DSC_0135

Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms

Prep time: 10mins

Cook time: 15mins

Ingredients

(serves 2)

  • 2 portobello mushrooms
  • 1 ½ cups fresh spinach
  • 1 red or yellow pepper (½ in filling, ½ for garnish)
  • 1 cup cashews (or walnuts)
  • ¼ cup white onion
  • 3 or 4 sun-dried tomatoes (in oil)   
  • 1 clove garlic
  • sprinkle nutritional yeast
  • 4 Tbs balsamic vinigar

1. Preheat oven to 400 °F

1. Remove steam from mushrooms and add stems into food processor along with spinach, ½ of pepper, cashews, onion, sundried tomatoes, and garlic, and mix until well combined.

2.  Brush inside of mushrooms with balsamic vinegar.

3. Place mushrooms onto pan and stuff with filling from food processor

4. cook for 15mins. Once cooked there may be some water around the mushrooms. Use tongs or a spatula to place on serving dish.

5. Garnish with remainder of chopped peppers and nutritional yeast.

hey thats vegan

So get into your eating pants and enjoy.

4 thoughts on “Stuffed Portobello Mushrooms

  1. Hey Phalygirl!! This is looking yummy, but I am not sure what nutritional yeast is? Can I substitute something else, or are there lots of benefits to it? Not sure I want to eat anything yeast, ….bloat?????

    1. Hi! Nutritional Yeast is in a lot of vegan food. I don’t think it makes me bloat. It is kinda like cheesy flavored sprinkles. It is also fortified with B12, so its a great way to add some flavor and nutrients. a double whammy! You don’t really need it for the recipe, or you could substitute it for vegan cheese, or parmesan if you are eating dairy.

  2. Hi Phal Girl! You are soo awesome! You are my Vegan idol. I really admire your love of animals. Keep the great recipes coming. PS what are some good brand names of nutritional yeast…I notice it is a vegan staple.

Leave a Reply

