baking · easy · Uncategorized

Sweet Heirloom Cookies

Hey, That's Vegan

Well I found out that I’m going to Asia for work next week! I’m really looking forward to going and checking out some cool temples and yoga classes in my free time. It’s going to be a major test in preparation and finding alternatives while I’m there to keep eating vegan. I’m planning on packing some vegan protein powder and granola bars, and eating a LOT of rice and veggies. I’d love any suggestions you might have on what to eat while there.

Tonight I wanted to satisfy my sweet tooth and make some healthy-ish cookies. I had this little bottle of Nobel bourbon infused maple syrup that our super cute wedding photographers (Sweet Heirloom…hence the name) gave us in a little gift bag along with our wedding photos.

Hey thats vegan

(I love the packaging!)

I have been wanting to save it for something special and though that these cookies were the perfect time to bust it out.  To amp up the healthy factor in these bad boys, I added some chia seed and hemp hearts, that way I can feel slightly better about eating a whole bunch of them. Some one has to do the taste testing.

As is my typical style, these are pretty easy to make. Hope you enjoy!

Hey that's vegan

Sweet Heirloom Cookies

makes about 2 dozen cookies

Ingredients:

  •  3 large ripe bananas
  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 2/3 cup almond flower* 
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened shredded coconut 
  • 1/4 cup oil (I used coconut, but you could also use vegetable)
  • 1/8 to 1/4 cup maple syrup ( more or less to taste)
  • 2 tbsp chia seeds
  • 3 tbsp hemp hearts
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • pinch cinnamon 
  • pinch salt
  • 3/4 bag of dark chocolate chips
  1. Preheat oven to 350ºF
  2. In a large bowl mash bananas, and add vanilla, oil, and maple syrup and mix until well combined.
  3. In a separate bowl combine the remainder (except chocolate chips) of dry ingredients.
  4. Slowly fold in dry ingredients to wet mixture.
  5. Add Chocolate chips
  6. Drop cookie balls (about 1 tbsp) onto baking sheet lined with parchment paper, about 1″ apart.
  7. Cook for 15 mins, or until just before bottoms burn.
  8. Let cool for 10 mins before transferring to cooling rack. They will crumble if you try to move them right away.

* If you don’t have almond flower, just take whole almonds and toss into the food processor (I used the Vitamix), and mix until you have a flower like substance. Be sure not to over process, because it can become sticky.

So you can easily go from this…

DSC_0118

to this…

almond flower

One thought on “Sweet Heirloom Cookies

  1. I have a great Tahini Cookie recipe!
    1 1/2 c tahini
    1 1/2 c honey
    1/2 tap salt (or less)
    1c sunflower seeds
    3 1/2c oats

    Mix everything together with a wooden spoon. Chill a few hours if you have time. Grease a cookie sheet. Form small balls with your hands (dough is sticky, I wear vinyl disposable gloves, doesn’t seem to stick as much). Press onto a cookie sheet to form circles. Press a well in the middle of each with your thumb. Place a small amount of jam-of-choice into the centres.
    Bake at 350′ until lightly golden (10-15 min depending on the size). Cool on a rack.

    ENJOY! Super delicious!!

Leave a Reply

