baking · Uncategorized · Vegan

Raw Vegan Carrot Cake

20130911-100517.jpg

Oh Pintrest, how I love you. You show me pictures of delicious food, that makes me drool and inspires me to bake. Only this time I didn’t need to turn my oven on! When I saw a pretty pin for a raw vegan carrot cake, the wheels started turning. I’ve been craving something sweet lately and this seemed like the perfect remedy.

Raw Vegan “baking” was first introduced to me by my friend Zoey when she made a raw vegan chocolate birthday cake for a friend of ours. Since tasting how amazing a raw cake can be, I’ve been wanting to try to make one myself. This recipe is quite simple, and the best part about raw vegan baking is that you can’t really screw it up. No worries about the cake not rising, or the ratios being off. Just taste as you go, and adjust as you like.

This is not my recipe, but its more of a review. My tips would be to remember that most raw cakes are pretty dense so they are small. I made mine in a 9″ pie pan as a mold and it was pretty thin, but still very tasty. Also the icing is pretty good, but I think that next time I’d try to make a lighter icing for it…but it would probably use icing sugar, so it wouldn’t be as healthy. Overall I give this cake 3.5 stars out of 5. Give it a go and let me know what you think.

Cake:

Icing:

Carrot Cake:

Fine chop the carrots into a quick “shredded carrot” in the food processor, then scoop into a bowl. Puree 1 cup walnuts in the food processor. Add in 9 mejool dates into the pureed walnuts, and then blend into a sweet paste. Add walnut/date paste into bowl with the grated carrots, stir and mash in together, and add in dried coconut, vanilla & five spice. Then add in raisins, 1/3 cup chopped walnuts. Mix until well incorporated. Shape the carrot cake with your hands onto a plate, it will be easy to shape into a cake mold. Chill in the fridge to help firm up.

Icing:

Blend all ingredients together in a high speed blender or food processor. It may also help to soak your cashews for an hour prior to making for easier blending, if you soak the cashews, expect to use less water in blending.

Recipe submitted by Betty, Willamina, OR

One thought on “Raw Vegan Carrot Cake

Leave a Reply

