breakfast · Vegan

Pumpkin Spice Latte Vegan style

20130926-120759.jpg

So everything is pumpkin spice flavoured right now…and I love it! The only problem is that I found out my old fave Starbucks Pumpkin Spice Latte, is not vegan. There is condensed milk in the flavouring. I decided to take matters into my own hands and try out making one at home. I already had the canned pumpkin pie filling ( I know, I know, not the health whole food type of choice but I was feeling lazy, and didnt want to deal with a whole pumpkin) so it was worth a shot. With that I came up with a very tasty version of a vegan pumpkin spice latte.

Ingredients:
1 cup almond milk
1 1/2 tbsp pumpkin pie filling (canned pumpkin)
1 tsp vanilla
1 tsp molasses
1-2 shots espresso or very strong coffee

Whipped cream:
Whole fat canned coconut milk that has been in the fridge overnight
2-3 tbsp maple syrup
1 tsp vanilla

For latte,
Heat and whisk all ingredients (except for espresso) on low heat over the stove. Whisk until pumpkin is dissolved and a little bit of foam appears in the milk.
Add mixture to cup, then add espresso shot. Adding the shot after helps everything to mix.

For Whipped Cream,
Take can out of fridge and flip upside down. Open the upside down can and pour out the liquid until you see the hardened cream at the bottom. Add the cream, vanilla and maple syrup to a blender and mix for 10-15 seconds.
Add a dollop onto the top of the latte.
The cream will store in the fridge for about a week.

Yay for fall and delicious PSL!

Leave a Reply

