dinner · easy · easy dinner · Uncategorized

Delicious Dump Dinners

Ok, so while the term “dump dinner” isn’t exactly appealing, the ease of making one is.  A dump dinner is when you take out your slow cooker, toss anything thats in your fridge or pantry into in and turn it on for a few hours….and ta-da! You’ve got dinner! This whole idea of woking without a recipe is very stressful to me. I like having a plan and I usually stick to it. My husband love to “free style it” (his words, not mine) when he’s cooking. He’ll add some veggies (usually peas and corn….he literally adds them to everything he cooks), a spice here or a sauce there. It usually turns out pretty decent to be honest but it’s just not how I usually opporate. 

I was really craving something creamy and comforting for dinner so I grabbed a can of full fat coconut milk, veggie stock and quinoa from the pantry, and tossed all the veggies I had in the fridge into the slowcoker and called it dinner. I was skeptical as to how it would turn out but when Link got home from work he said it smelt great! So I knew at least it smelt good (why is it that you become “nose blind” when you’re cooking?!). 

  Once 3hrs had passed it was time to dig in….and….it was a win! My dump dinner was just what I was hoping it would be. So the recipe today isn’t so much of a recipe as a formula. Just take what you’ve already got and work with it! 

Ingredients 

Pantry items

Starch base

  • Rice
  • Quinoa
  • Barley 
  • Noodles (check slow cooking times for noodles) 

Liquid

  • Coconut milk
  • Vegetable stock
  • Tomato sauce 
  • Water
  • Anything else you can think of

Fridge 

  • Toss in what ever you want to use up 
  • Check the freezer for frozen veggies if your short on the fresh stuff

Instructions

  1. Add starch and liquid and stir then add in everything else. 
  2. Set on high for 2-4hrs (cook time will depend on your starch). 
  3. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

